This abbreviated summary was taken from a summary provided by AFHE and does not constitute a legal opinion. The Pinal County School Superintendent’s web site lists all the relevant sections of Arizona law with an explanation.
Children under 6 years of age as of September 1st have no requirement.
Children who turn 6 before September 1st and are younger than 16 years of age are required to do the following:
File an affidavit of intent to homeschool within 30 days. This only needs to be done the first year. (The affidavit of intent can be obtained by calling the Pinal County School Superintendent at 520-866-6565 or printing it from the AFHE web site.)
The affidavit will include child’s name, date of birth, current address of school, and name, telephone, and address of parent.
File a copy of the child’s birth certificate within 30 days.
Provide instruction in reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies, and science.
Notify County School Superintendent within 30 days of terminating home school.
If you do not wish to begin formal education until 8 years of age, note this on the home school affidavit.
NOTE: AFHE recommends all parents/guardians review the Arizona state statutes prior to submitting your affidavit. Click on the link below to view the statutes directly from the state website.
HSLDA: Arizona – Summary
HSLDA: Arizona – A Legal Analysis (pdf)
ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES REGARDING EDUCATION
15-763. Plan for providing special education; definition
15-745. Children instructed at home; testing; prohibition
15-802.01. Children instructed at home; eligibility to participate in interscholastic activities
15-802. School instruction; exceptions; violations; classification; definitions
15-828. Birth certificate; school records; exception